Ohio Misdemeanor Penalties

If you have been charged with a misdemeanor criminal offense in the State of Ohio, you are facing the following potential consequences:

ClassificationConfinement1Maximum Fine2
Misdemeanor 1 (M1) Maximum Sentence of 180 days $ 1,000
Misdemeanor 2 (M2) Maximum Sentence of 90 days $ 750
Misdemeanor 3 (M3) Maximum Sentence of 60 days $ 500
Misdemeanor 4 (M4) Maximum Sentence of 30 days $ 250
Minor Misdemeanor (MM) None $ 150

Charges involving DUI, DUS and drugs carry mandatory and/or minimum sentence provisions. Nearly every drug offense in Ohio carries a mandatory license suspension of six months to three years, even if no vehicle was involved in the offense.

Some Driving Under Suspension charges carry mandatory jail, and repeat offenses may result in vehicle forfeiture.

1 See also O.R.C. § 2967.193 regarding days of credit.
2 Offender required to pay towing and storage fees if convicted of theft offense involving motor vehicle or major part thereof. See O. R.C. § 2913.82

Disclaimer

The ohiocrimelawyer.com website is designed for general information only. Any information on this site is not to be construed as formal legal advice from a criminal defense lawyer, a DUI lawyer, a family law lawyer or wills, probate, trusts and estate planning lawyer, nor formation of a lawyer/client relationship. Persons accessing this site are encouraged to seek personal advice regarding their individual legal issues.

The attorneys in our law firm primarily service Portage County courts (Ravenna and Kent), Summit County courts (Akron, Stow, Barberton), and Cuyahoga County courts (Cleveland, Garfield Heights, Bedford, Parma, Rocky River etc...). Cases in all other courts in NorthEast Ohio are handled under specific terms and conditions.